NPS not forwarding Radius accounting messages RRS feed

• Question

• Greetings,

Preamble: I'm a network engineer so my Windows server knowledge is limited.

I'm trying to implement identity based rules on our firewall (Fortigate). For that I need our NPS/Radius forward accounting messages to the firewall.

The following was set up:

• NPS –> RADIUS Client and Servers –> Remote RADIUS Server Group – New group -> add Fortigate to this group
    • NPS –> Policies Use Windows authentication for all users(Enabled) –> Settings –> accounting -  Forward accounting request to this remote RADIUS server group and add the group with Fortigate

However, there are no accounting messages forwarded to the Fortigate. Unfortunately I currently can't run Wireshark on the Windows server. I did a packet capture on the Firewall and when I do trigger some Radius action, like sign into a switch, I can see the Radius traffic between the switch and the NPS but nothing is forwarded to the firewall.

Any ideas what is wrong?

Thursday, July 16, 2020 9:22 AM

All replies

• Hi,

Please confirm below settings(about RADIUS proxy):

Add RADIUS client on NPS console: 
    NPS – RADIUS Client and Servers – RADIUS Client – new RADISU client(name, IP and etc.). Make sure the client’s state is enabled. And on the RADIUS client’s side(AP/controller/etc.), configure it to send message to RADIUS proxy(proxy’s IP and port number).

Add RADIUS group on NPS console:
    NPS – RADIUS Client and Servers – Remote RADIUS Server Group – New group and add fortigate 60D to this group.

Connection request policy on NPS console: 
    Once NPS has been installed, it is a RADIUS server by default, so we need to add a policy and configure it to forward the message to other RADIUS server.
    NPS –Policies Use Windows authentication for all users(Enabled) – Settings – accounting -  Forward accounting request to this remote RADIUS server group and add the group.