Patch Installation on Remote Machines RRS feed

• Question

•  

Hello,

I am relatively new to Powershell, and so far I've found that it is quite a powerful tool, and allows me to do a lot of things much more efficiently than I had done before.

The question I have is whether or not it is possible to create a script in powershell, that could be used to install Microsoft Hotfixes remotely.  I know there are "other ways" to do this such as a WSUS, however none of these are options, because I am on an network that has no access to the outside world and most of them need access in order to DL the patches.

If it's possible or someone has done it, I'd love to see a quick sample that I could use as a guide to put together my own script for deploying patches.  If not, at least I can stop all the google searching I've done trying to find tidbits that lead nowhere.

Thanks

Wednesday, January 16, 2008 1:35 PM

Answers

• PSH>get-wmiobject -computer some_server win32_quickfixengineering

Assuming you are currently logged on with an account that has access to the remote system.

Monday, February 11, 2008 2:45 PM

All replies

• Well, now it kind of depends on a few things I've not all tested.

If you're dealing with v1, you'd have to use WMI to talk to the remote servers.  So you either need WMI running on all the machines, but having WinRM could also be useful.

You'd likely only be able to deal with patches that have a silent mode (no interface required if you provide the proper switches).

How did you plan to copy the patches over?  For example, have a shared drive all of these systems can access?

Marco

Wednesday, January 16, 2008 6:11 PM
  • I currently have a shared drive that I use to go to the machines and apply the patches that we get.

Thursday, January 17, 2008 3:27 PM
  • I just need to go find a patch I can test, before providing you with some code.

Friday, January 18, 2008 4:02 PM
  • This will work assuming your are using a *Domain Admin* account: