none
Window 2008 Server R2 (Video Output Server) Experiancing Local PC Time Drift from Domain Controller

Question

• All,

I'm a broadcast support engineer and have run into an issue I could really use some help with. I currently have a Supermicro server running Windows server 2008 r2 that is used as a video playout server for broadcast television. It has been reported that the following output appliance has been experiencing slight time drift (1 to 5 sec's) from the systems Domain Controller. While it doesn't seem like it, this is a MAJOR issue as the Graphics System running on this playout server utilizes the local PC clock and NOT the NTP Controlled system time via the Domain Controller or my companies service called the "Time Service". Anyways, due to this drift graphics are NOT clearing /hitting air at the right times resulting in air affecting issues. The time drifts a few seconds either direction, then will snap back to the correct time displayed by the domain every few minutes.

I have since ran an "Energy-Report.html" via command prompt which said it checked the CMOS battery which is fine, however should I manually check it with a voltage meter? The servers Windows Time Service is properly connected to the Domain Controller, as you can see the time correct itself every once in a while. Furthermore, no changes to the system have taken place and it seem like this issue came out of no where.

Anyways, I'm really backed up against a wall here and could use come help with ideas on what the heck else to check. Thanks again, Jeff

Friday, March 3, 2017 6:16 PM

All replies

• Maybe this one helps.

High Accuracy W32time Requirements

Regards, Dave Patrick ....
    Microsoft Certified Professional
    Microsoft MVP [Windows Server] Datacenter Management

Disclaimer: This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties or guarantees, and confers no rights.

Saturday, March 4, 2017 3:25 AM
  • Jeff,