Page Templates and Master Pages RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Folks,

I'm a SharePoint newbie, and I'm trying to figure out how SharePoint builds the final pages I see.
    For example, the default.aspx I get with a team site - in detail, how is that page created?

I'm going through the book "Inside WSS 3.0", and I understand all the pieces I've read about so far,
    but there seems to be one piece I'm still missing. I completely understand the concept of ghosted and
    unghosted pages, and I understand that site pages are ghostable(or customizable) while application pages
    are not. I also read through the section on Master Pages and those make perfect sense too.

What I don't understand, and have been unable to find any documentation on, is how page templates and
    master pages interact.

My understanding of master pages is that they are templates in a sense. They have some common elements
    that you might want to share amongst some set of pages. Everything I've read about master pages presents
    the idea that a content page uses a master page by specifying what is specific about the page we're trying to
    build, and it puts that instance specific data into the placeholders of the master page. Makes perfect sense.

But then there seems to be one more level of templatization in WSS - page templates. My question is:
    "What is it that's in a page template that is common to all the page instances that are built using it?
    It sounds to me like master pages provide some basic layout, and some common elements that will
    appear on every default.aspx page I get as the home page for any team site I create. If that's the case,
    then what common elements are the page template providing. Clearly, each final default.aspx team site page
    will have different data, but what are the common elements that the template is providing that the master
    page is not?

I'm going to try to take an example of a master page and a page template and slog my way through,