none
Incremental Backup of Sitecollections with PowerShell RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I wanted to Backup a Site Collection once a week with a full-backup and every other day of the week with an incremental or differential backup, but I think that isn't possible that easily, Right? I'm relatively new to SharePoint and PowerShell, so please excuse my lack of Knowledge here.

If it isn't possible with an easy command: Do you have any idea how I could manage that?

I thought about looping through all sites and getting the data when it was last modified to know what it has to backup, but that's all I got:

if ((Get-PSSnapin "Microsoft.SharePoint.PowerShell" -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue) -eq $null) {
        Add-PSSnapin "Microsoft.SharePoint.PowerShell"
    }

$sites = Get-SPSite -Limit All | Get-SPWeb -Limit All
    foreach ($site in $sites) {
    ??
    }
    }
    $sites.Dispose()

Im really overchallenged as you can see. It isn't many code and it isn't nice, but I really don't know how to do it and I didn't find anything useful for me.

Thank you for your help.

Best Regards,

Robin

_________________________________________________________________________________

EDIT:

Hello everybody,

thanks for your answers, but I think I have to write something, because everyone is just replying to the first section of my Question. I know About the Backup-SPfarm and Backup-Spsite commands and I know, that non of These commands can do an incremental backup of just one sitecollection.

So, if this isn't possible with an easy one-liner, my second Question was: Is it possible with a PowerShell script that loops through all sites of the sitecollection?

Best regards,

Robin

• Edited by N3ubi Wednesday, September 11, 2019 6:59 AM main question
    Tuesday, September 10, 2019 1:18 PM

Answers

• Thanks to both of you.