Exchange needs your credentials RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

I am new to Lync so struggling to find an answer to this.

I have users in one domain that get the above error when accessing the Lync client. They have reported Lync still works but they get an Exchange needs your credentials error.

When looking at the client config settings the EWS URLs are not in the config which i think must be the problem. Any ideas on what could be causing this?

Pleas let me know if you need more information.

Shane

Friday, September 2, 2016 3:08 PM

Answers

• This is now resolved. A certificate was renewed without the autodiscover record, When renewed with the record it worked.
    • Marked as answer by Shane W Monday, January 23, 2017 2:05 PM
    Monday, January 23, 2017 2:05 PM

All replies

• Hi

Prompting for exchange credentials can be down to a number of factors:

• Basic auth only for exchange instead of NTLM 
    • UPNs not matching SIP address 
    • autodiscover failures to Exchange
    • EWS not deployed internally or externally
    • Incorrect SPNs on Exchange Servers AD Objects, perhaps even an old object still exists for an exchange server that no longer exists?

thanks

Note: Please remember to `Mark as Answered` a post that answers your question and/or `Vote as Helpful` posts that have helped you. This will help others find answers to similar problems. For more Skype for Business help visit: http://www.skype4b.uk Please note that answers are based on my experience and opinion only and do not necessarily represent the views of my employer.

• Proposed as answer by Alice-Wang Monday, September 5, 2016 1:17 AM
    Friday, September 2, 2016 3:37 PM
  • Hi Shane Walford,

Welcome to post in our forum.

Yes, agree with Mark, the prompt will be caused by a number of reasons.

If user’s sip address does not match his/her SMTP address (mail address), he/she will be prompted for Exchange credential.