How to Create a Domain Controller Accessible Without VPN RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

I am a newbie. Below is my query----

I need to create a domain controller running on azure. I want my client PC to be able to Ping it and get domain joined. I am not looking for a scenario that uses a VPN. I am simply looking for a scenario in which DC is having a Public IP and I should be able to domain join my PC to that domain.

I am using Windows Server 2012 R2 in Azure. I am using my Windows 8.1 PC as a client computer. I am not testing this for organizational purposes as I understand this is not a secure configuration as per company standards.

What all do I need? Multiple NICs? Public IP? Specific Port Numbers?

I need to start from the scratch. I am a newbie. Please help.

Saturday, March 12, 2016 12:06 PM

Answers

• Hi.

If you have a router then you have somekind of NAT i guess.

You will need to:

1. Lock down RPC ports
    2. Forward all ports including RPC ports from the internet to the DC
    3. Rewrite all DNS queries

I have never done this and I'm unsure if I know anybody who has done this. I dont think anyone will be able to easily help you, it is all to depending on your environment.

Please read up on:

Please remember to click “Mark as Answer” on the post that helps you, and to click “Unmark as Answer” if a marked post does not actually answer your question. Even if you are not the author of a thread you can always help others by voting as Helpful. This can be beneficial to other community members reading the thread.

Oscar Virot

• Proposed as answer by Jay Gu Friday, March 25, 2016 8:44 AM
    • Marked as answer by Amy Wang_ Monday, March 28, 2016 6:59 AM
    Sunday, March 13, 2016 3:05 PM
  • Hi,

I think direct access may be helpful to you.