none
Enable/Disable BHO(Browser Helper Object) RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Masters,

I'm a newbie in BHO development(add-in on IE), i have a question for you

I want enable just My BHO Add-In automation as long as i installed done, How to do it?

Thanks

Tuan Nguyen.

Wednesday, February 15, 2017 9:19 AM

Answers

All replies

• Hi,

You can enable/disable BHOs by adding/removing a DWORD registry value called "Flags" with a value of 1 to this key:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Ext\Settings\<BHO CLSID>

1 means disabled, 0 means enabled.

In addition, as this issue is mainly related to IE development, I suggest discussing it in our MSDN forum. They are the best resource to troubleshoot this issue.

https://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/ie/en-US/home?category=iedevelopment

Best Regards,

Tao

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help. If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

Thursday, February 16, 2017 7:40 AM
  • Hi Tony,

I tried with your solution but it's working with me, because

When new application has just installed, we will meet an DWORD file NewInstallPromptCount also stay on this path HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Ext\Settings\<BHO CLSID>

When i set value of Flags file as 1(Disabled) ->  NewInstallPromptCount file auto removed, but not my intent

When i set value of Flags file as 0(Enabled) ->  NewInstallPromptCount file auto created, i saw a default popup to Enable or Don't enable add-on

Thanks

Tuan Nguyen.

Friday, February 17, 2017 2:29 AM
  • Hi,

We haven’t heard from you for a couple of days, have you solved the problem? We are looking forward to your good news.

Best Regards,

Tao

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help. If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

Wednesday, February 22, 2017 6:01 AM
  • Hi Tony,