none
What is difference between Team Members and Portfolio Viewers (some users can't see project files)? RRS feed

• Question

• We have 6 files in our Project Center. This page says that people in both the Portfolio Viewers group and the Team Members group should be able to see the files.  These groups each have Contribute rights.

In my testing, when I put my test user in the Team Members group, they could only see one of the files.  When I added the user to the Portfolio Viewers group, they could see all the files.  Any ideas what could be the difference?  I have no experience with Project Server or Project Online at all. During my research over the last two days I have not found an explanation for this behavior.  Is there some difference in the way the files could be published that could account for their being visible by different groups?  Or something different between the two groups other than that they both have Contribute rights? 

We are using the SP Permissions Mode.

There are no mistakes; every result tells you something of value about what you are trying to accomplish.

Wednesday, July 18, 2018 9:20 PM

Answers

• run4it --

The Team Members security group is intended for people who work as team members in projects.  Their default permissions allow them to ONLY see projects in which they are team members, allow them to see the Tasks page and Timesheet page in PWA, and allow them to contribute Risks, Issues, and documents in the SharePoint Project Sites for projects in which they are team members.

The Portfolio Viewers security group was formerly called the Executives group. Their default permissions allows them to see all projects in the Project Center page, all resources in the Resource Center page, and the SharePoint Project Sites for all projects.  In the SharePoint Project Sites, they are viewers only and cannot contribute Risks, Issues, or documents.

Hope this helps.

Dale A. Howard [MVP]