WinZip 14 file association message RRS feed

• Question

• I'm fairly new to App-V, so apologies if the solution is obvious. I'm sequencing WinZip 14.0 on a Windows 7 sequencer for use in Server 2008 Terminal Services (also tested on a Windows 7 client, same problem). The sequencing works fine, there are no problems launching the application during sequencing. I am using App-V 4.6, entirely 32-bit for now.

When the package is run on the client I receive a file association message (presumably because .zip/.zipx are associated with sfttray.exe). The message can be cleared by each user, but I'd prefer it to not appear at all.

With WinZip installed locally the problem can be replicated by deleting the .zip/.zipx associations, and the message can be cleared by creating the string value HKCU\Software\Nico Mak Computing\WinZip\WinZip\AssocMsgZipZipx and setting it to 0 (zero). I have tried creating this value on the sequencer in the Virtual Registry (also AssocMsgZip as suggested here , and both in the same location under HKLM) but it has no effect. I have launched RegEdit under the "bubble" and can see all the values correctly in place, but they seem to be ignored by the sequenced WinZip.

Thanks.

Monday, October 4, 2010 11:15 AM

Answers

• Local Interaction and scripts had no effect.

I think I've got this resolved however. I finally worked out that a copy of RegEdit run in the virtualised environment shows the "live" registry, so I exported the relevant branch, cleared the message with "Never show again" ticked and compared the registry before and after. It turns out there is an additional registry value created in this situation, also a string, with the name "AssocMsgExe" and set to "0". Creating this value as well in a newly sequenced WinZip package finally got rid of the message.