locked
Microsoft please forge the way with Recycle Bin logic and Save as... RRS feed

  • Question

  • Save As... is actually 2 operations but for some reason is treated as only one.

    1) Delete the current file

    2) Save the new file with the same name

    Why is that Delete operation so overlooked?  It should not differ from any other delete.  

    It should Delete the file as if it had been Deleted any other way, which with our Governance plan would place that file in the Recycle Bin.   A deleted file is a deleted file.

    If versioning is turned off, is there any SharePoint related fix to having Users come to me with, "I did Save As... by mistake and can't find my original file." ? 


    Jonathan M Beck





    • Edited by Beta Star Tuesday, July 17, 2012 1:47 PM
    Tuesday, July 17, 2012 1:31 PM