WSUS defer updates download after approving them RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I was wondering the following about WSUS working, I am a newbie in Windows Server and WSUS.

1) Is it possible to defer updates download after approving them?

Due to bandwidth limitation, I would like to approve updates during business hours, but download them from Windows Update servers starting from midnight.

2) For Windows 10 monthly updates, does WSUS download from Windows Update the whole cumulative update every time?

Let's say that September cumulative update size is 500 MB and the following one in October is 750 MB. A Windows 10 client would download from Windows Update servers (without WSUS) about 250MB in October (if it already has all files of september update). Could WSUS do the same or it downloads the full size of every update? For instance, 500MB in Sept., plus 750MB in Oct., which totals more than 1GB with a duplication of files contained within the updates and a really big bandwidth consumption.

Thank you.

Riccardo

• Edited by R99photo Sunday, October 21, 2018 2:59 PM
    Sunday, October 21, 2018 2:58 PM

Answers

All replies

• Hello, 

1> You can't do that through WSUS setting, however, you could limit the bandwidth of BITS during business hours via Group Policy. 

Computer Configuration | Administrative Templates | Network | Background Intelligent Transfer Service | Limit the maximum network bandwidth for BITS background transfers

Another method is setting Automatic Approvals Rules. If you set your WSUS to automatic synchronize with Windows Update in midnight, it would automatic approval updates and download them with Automatic Approvals rules after completing synchronization.