none
Dynamic IP Address Change Email Notification RRS feed

• General discussion

• I downloaded the following script and am attempting to get it working: http://gallery.technet.microsoft.com/scriptcenter/Dynamic-IP-Address-Change-daf9a835

I've been looking for something like this to use, but I am not an expert and could use a little help.  This seems so simple, but Murphy just loves me too much to let this work.  I modified the following lines in the .ps1 file to read:

$smtpServer = "mail.amgaudio.net"
    $sender = "amg@amgaudio.net"
    $users = "preachert@gmail.com", "amg@amga.us";

And then I added my email and password to the following line of the 'if' statement:

$smtp.Credentials = New-Object System.Net.NetworkCredential("amg@amgaudio.net", "password");

These are the only changes I have made.  All the data I entered is correct (with the proper password of course). When I attempt the 'Import Task' action in the Task Scheduler and point to the .xml file, I get the following error:

The format of the task is not valid. The following error was reported: (2,8):version:1.4

Can anyone help me understand what I am doing wrong and what could be causing this error?  I'm running Win 7 Pro SP1.  Please let me know if I have forgotten to include some useful information.  Thanks!

Tuesday, June 17, 2014 10:35 PM

All replies

• What xml file? You can create the task yourself. Use these options:

Program/script: C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\powershell.exe

Add arguments (optional): -file C:\Scripts\yourscriptfile.ps1

-- Bill Stewart [Bill_Stewart]

Tuesday, June 17, 2014 11:21 PM