locked
"Unknown Account" deletion causes another profile to lose data RRS feed

  • Question

  • While in the process of cleaning up a XP Professional client PC, I deleted some "unknown account" profiles that appeared to mirror local profiles that were valid. After deleting the "unknown account" profile, all the normal profile appeared alright. However, when I logged into the main account profile, all the files on the desktop were gone. The profile no longer shows 1.9 GB of data, but 20 MB of data.

    How could this happen? Were the profiles somehow crosslinked? Three years ago, the domain was changed when a new server was installed.

     

    Thanks.

    Perry Lund

    ArrowQuick

    Monday, January 3, 2011 3:39 PM