none
Sysprepped Dell Optiplex 7010 Driver Installation Failure RRS feed

• Question

• I needed to create a universal image that can be deployed on Dell Optiplexes 780, 790, 7010, and 9020. I created a sysprepped Windows 7 Pro x86 image on a Dell Optiplex 9020 using the following parameters: oobe, generalize, and shutdown. Then I captured the image using imageX and deployed the image to a 7020 PC. After booting into the image and installing drivers, I used a driver backup utility to copy all of the drivers off the 7010. I then mounted the sysprepped WIM and injected the drivers into it and committed the changes. Then I deployed the image with the 7010 injected drivers to a 7010 model PC, and it will BSOD or fail to boot into Windows. I can get the sysprepped image that has 780, 790, and 9020 injected drivers to work with the other Dell models. I just can't get the Dell optiplex 7010 to install drivers correctly. I am new to MDT and imaging all together. I appreciate any help.
    Tuesday, December 15, 2015 8:14 PM

Answers

• You should just let MDT to do the work for you. If you want a deployment solution to be self contained on a UFD then create Media using MDT. I've imaged OptiPlex 745 all the way up to the latest models from Dell using MDT and just adding the Dell CAB files to the out of box drivers. But you'll have a much easier time if you follow the best practices, which are covered in the links I provided.

Think of yourself as a chef in training. You don't start cooking for people by experimenting with ingredients, you follow a recipe. It's not until you are experienced in cooking that you can start to try new methods, because by then you understand what you should and shouldn't do.

If this post is helpful please vote it as Helpful or click Mark for answer.

• Marked as answer by pappa31 Wednesday, December 16, 2015 2:40 PM
    Wednesday, December 16, 2015 2:21 PM

All replies