none
Script to map default printer based on user input RRS feed

• Question

• Hello everyone,

Complete scripting noob here but I managed to cludge together a vb script (from various sources) that will remove all current printers and then add printers based on group membership.  It can also add a default printer and if they have a local printer make that default.  All that works just fine, my problem is that we have very large floors with many printer clusters.  Group membership for printers is by floor and I do not have the option to further define this (Also GPO is not an option as getting our network group to deploy anything takes years so we need to go this route).

What I would need is something graphical (like an HTA) that when run it prompts the user to input which floor they are on, then it asks them which of the print clusters (on the floor they specified) is closest to them.  It would then install all the printers on the floor and make the default printer one from the print cluster they indicated (unless they have a local printer).  I hope this make sense. 

I think I have most of the pieces laid out but I don't know how to get the user prompts/GUI and then perform the correct mappings.  Thank you in advanced!

Wednesday, March 5, 2014 4:27 PM

Answers

• Hi,

Sorry, but this isn't a forum where you can tell some requirements and have someone write the code for you.

I know you said GPO isn't an option, but Group Policy Preferences really is the best answer since you're not familiar with scripting.

If you are insistent that GPO is impossible, then I'd recommend hiring a qualified consultant who can gather your requirements and design a script to your specifications (and provide ongoing support for it).

Bill

Wednesday, March 5, 2014 4:36 PM

All replies

• Hi,

Sorry, but this isn't a forum where you can tell some requirements and have someone write the code for you.