none
Need guidance on how to use DPM CLI to initiate a backup job and how to gather statistics of a completed backup job RRS feed

• Question

• I am running a single server with DPM where I am backing up data from an external disk storage array.  Manual backups are working fine, but I want to be able to run some scripts that will automate some of my work.

I am new to scripting and am hoping to find some guidance on how to use DPM CLI to initiate a backup job and how to gather statistics of a completed backup job.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Many thanks in advance,

Dave W

Tuesday, April 12, 2011 4:29 PM

All replies

• Ha Dave,

Did you get your question figured out?

Thanks, Wilson Souza - MSFT This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights
    Saturday, December 24, 2011 9:08 PM
  • No I didn't.  There doesn't seem to be a lot of DPM expertise out there that can help with my issue.  Do you understand what I am trying to accomplish?

Many thanks,

Dave

• Edited by dsw1225hou Saturday, December 31, 2011 2:47 AM
    Saturday, December 31, 2011 2:46 AM
  • Hi Dave,

If you give more details on what you need to do today to achieve your needs we might be able to come up with something that can make your life easier.

Thanks, Wilson Souza - MSFT This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights
    Saturday, December 31, 2011 5:45 AM
  • I am running a single server with DPM 2010 where I am backing up data from an external disk storage array to a D2D device (VTL).  Manual backups are working fine, but I want to be able to run some scripts that will automate some of my work.  I currently use perl scripts with other applications successfully.

I understand that DPM has many cmdlets available, but I cannot find any that will simply initiate a backup job, run a consistency check, create a recovery point, etc.

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Dave

Saturday, December 31, 2011 5:33 PM