none
Project name has "&" RRS feed

• Question

• Someone created 2 projects with "&" in the name.

Now when we try to change ownership or the PM, it will not save in PWA project details.

Please help.

Tuesday, March 7, 2017 10:33 PM

All replies

• Hi,

I have no experience with this situaltion. Not sure how someone could create a project with an '&' in the name. Is it possible to rename the project in PDP Project Details (from process and technically)? I can't try, since I am not able to create a project with such a name.

Regards
    Barbara

To increase the value of this forum, please mark the replies that helped to solve your issue as answer. If you find answers to questions from other forum participants to be helpful, please mark them as helpful. Your participation will help others to find an appropriate solution faster. Thanks for your support!

Wednesday, March 8, 2017 9:59 AM
  • Have you tried to give the project a different name by opening it in MS Project and doing "File - save as"?

Once you saved and published the new project, you can change ownership of the new project and delete the original one.

Thursday, March 9, 2017 9:25 AM
  • Hi,

HFprojects's suggestion is good, if you don't

• use timesheets
    • and don't have any interfaces relying on any guid (ProjectUID, TaskUID, AssignmentUID)

Recreating the project with a different name will create new GUIDs. Therefore, tasks in existing timesheets will loose their connection to the task. Also any interfaces will have to handle different GUIDs, and this is not implemented in the most cases.

Regards
    Barbara

To increase the value of this forum, please mark the replies that helped to solve your issue as answer. If you find answers to questions from other forum participants to be helpful, please mark them as helpful. Your participation will help others to find an appropriate solution faster. Thanks for your support!

Thursday, March 9, 2017 11:02 AM