none
WDS Access denied RRS feed

• Question

• To start with I'd like to say that I am not a member of Domain Admins nor have ever been.

About a year and a half ago I built a Windows 2008 server R2 machine.   It has been used for a variety of things.   Last spring I installed the WDS component so that I could use PXE boot on our network.  A couple months ago I started playing around with deploying images and generally just trying to learn the WDS functions.  Then last week we started to implement SCCM 2012 on our network.  Last friday I went into the WDS to turn off the PXE boot and when I try to make changes to the service I get a dialog box saying Access Denied.

Any thoughts as to why I can no longer control the WDS?  Any thoughts or comments are greatly appreciated.

WD

Thursday, November 22, 2012 5:09 PM

All replies

• Hi,

Towards the OS deployment in organization, Microsoft provides three resolutions:

1. Windows Deployment Services;

2. Microsoft Deployment Toolkit;

3. System Center Configuration Manager;

SCCM provide the most powerful functions to deal with the OS and software deployment in your organzation.

From your description, you mentioned that WDS is no longer controlled. You mean the WDS console can't be opened? Please share a snapshot here. Since you are using SCCM 2012 in your network, does any client reporting OS installation via network issue?

The issue began when you tried to make changes to the service, which service is being modified? Have you tried to revert back the setting fo this specific service?

Please run the following command in Windows PowerShell with evaluated rights:

Get-Service | Where-Object {$_.name -like "*WDS*"}

Of couse, take a look in Event Viewer, please feel free to post back your findings.

Regards,

James

James Xiong

TechNet Community Support

Monday, November 26, 2012 2:50 AM
  • Hi there;