none
Powershell shutdown script issues RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Scripting Guys!

I'm working on a project to optimize school computers in my region(mainly boot/startup time). As all the students are local administrators it often results in them installing various programs, programs that more often than not, is set as a start-up program, which obviously effects the start time.

So i decided to make a powershell script to go in and edit the registry for startup programs, with the intent of making it a shutdown script to be applied through a group policy.

But the script wont run.

Trying to run it manually works fine.

I've set execution policy to both all signed and remotesigned/unrestricted(i have signed the script though)

I've disabled the UAC as it gave me some issues during testing

I am a powershell rookie though so i'm sure i've missed some obvious mistake, either in the script or settings so i'm hoping you can assist me or point me in the right direction.

The script looks something like this:

Remove-Item -Path hklm:\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

New-Item -Path hklm:\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\ -ItemType Key

New-ItemProperty -Path hklm:\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\ -Value '"C:\Program Files\path to some driver.exe"  -PropertyType String -Name "name of some driver"

bonus info:

i'm testing in a virtual inviroment using a Win2008r2 Domain controller with Win7 clients

From the clients, using rsop.msc, i can see the script, and the path, I can also see the attempt to start the script in eventviewer and it even says its finished about 2 seconds later. (rsop shows no last execution time)

Kind regards

Powershell rookie

Thursday, March 19, 2015 12:38 PM

Answers

• Well as i am a rookie at scripting i turned to you guys hoping to find out if i needed to add or change something in the script to make it work. But as it turns out, nothing had to be change.