Run As Account wrongly distributed RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am new to SCOM and MP development. I have a number of issues configuring the a Management Pack for OpsMgr 2007 r2. (I am currently running CU3 for OpsMgr 2007 r2) There have been three attempts to configure the Management Pack to talk with our two Chassis. Each time has resulted in a massive amount of alerts being sent out from all of our installed agents. I used a less Secure Run-AS Account that uses Simple Authentication. Once this is done and applied to the particular Profiles, the Run-As Account gets distributed to all OpsMgr agents and management servers. Once this occurs a massive amount of alerts are generated with failures related to the Run-As Account. In my second attempt, I used a more-secure run-as account and manually distributed the run-as account to just the management servers. This also resulted in a massive flood of alerts from all agents. In the Third attempt, I only applied the More Secure Run-As Account to a particular class and I again started to experience unexpected alerts.

The more prominent error comes is "Secured Reference Override Failure" and "Script or Executable Failed to Run" which shows the Account credential distributed to the management server but MP only meant to communicate with a particular server. Is there a problem in my MP implementation or this is normal?

I guess that if this a problem then my implementation of Computer Discovery is not properly done as I used Target="$Reference/Windows$Microsoft.Windows.Computer". Is this distributing the credentials to all managed servers? How can I design filters for this problem in the MP?

Thanks,

Ravi

Monday, May 16, 2011 5:22 AM

Answers