Collection Query trouble for AD installation groups RRS feed

• Question

• Dear SCCM Gurus:

I'm new to SCCM and have successfuly installed it in a test environment.

I am trying to deploy software (and undpeloy) to a test client via an AD Security group.

The example software is 64 bit, so I'm using AddRemove64

For that, I have created three collections:

Software - Installed = Lists all computers which have the software installed

Software - Missing = Lists all the computers which are an AD group member and don't have the software in AddRemove(64)

However, once a computer has successfully installed the software, it shows up in all 3 groups!!!

How is that possible?

I'm sure it's an easy mistake somewhere.

I've scoured the internet and found (among other things)  this:  http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/configmgrswdist/thread/45c5c1cc-6245-4876-9ea2-89f44ab3b308/

But it didn't help.

I've read something abotu NOT queries because they're array or something, but shouldn't these queries work? I used the design mode to put them together.

Any help would be appreciated.

Tuesday, May 29, 2012 11:50 AM

Answers

• You have to use the subselect / not in statement if you want to exclude certain machines: http://myitforum.com/cs2/blogs/jgilbert/archive/2008/07/22/subselect-queries-the-easy-way.aspx.

Torsten Meringer | http://www.mssccmfaq.de

Tuesday, May 29, 2012 12:10 PM
  • How about this...  Instead of trying to solve this specific problem that you've got right now...have you considered that perhaps the goal you're after can be accomplished in different ways?

Do you really have, or intend to make specific AD security groups for all the apps that you want to deploy?  Is this going to scale for you as you roll it out across your organization? Are you neglecting to take advantage of some of the built in features of SCCM?