none
HIS 2010 SNA Connection RRS feed

• Question

• Hello, I'm new to HIS and SNA connectivity.  I've built an EE connection from my  HIS server to a mainframe but now would like other clients on my LAN to leverage this same connection.  Can you do this through a native emulation client?  I'm assuming yes since there is a TN3270 piece in the SNA Manager.  I'm not having any success using either c3270 from a UX server or the native HIS client emulation in a remote client install.  If this works I'm assuming the connection would be IP using 3270 emulation to the HIS and then its converted to the SNA emulation over EE to the mainframe, almost like two connections?

Thanks!

Fred

Monday, January 21, 2013 10:31 PM

Answers

• I'm glad you got it worked out. I should indicated "Application LU (LUA)" above instead of just saying LUA LUs. Old habits. <g>

Thanks...

Stephen Jackson - MSFT

• Marked as answer by FredWitt02 Friday, January 25, 2013 2:23 PM
    Thursday, January 24, 2013 9:11 PM

All replies

• I should also add if I'm on the server its self and I run the client tools I can connect using the 3270 emulator and the "SNA Server Connection".  Basically just looking to extend the SNA server connection to remote machines.

Thanks!

Monday, January 21, 2013 10:32 PM
  • Hi,

what do you mean by extending ?

Using for example a TN3270 emulation through HIS ? or Executing CICS Transactions ?

Best Regards,

Steve Melan - BCEE My Blog : http://stevemelan.wordpress.com

Tuesday, January 22, 2013 6:21 PM
  • Hi Steve, yes, using a TN3270 emulation through HIS, for example from a client desktop not directly on the HIS server.

Thanks for replying Steve!

Wednesday, January 23, 2013 6:37 PM
  • Hi Fred,