none
Force YouTube Restricted Mode DNS RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I have a Windows Server 2012 R2 domain and the server is acting as the DNS server. I'm quite new to networking, I don't have anything complicated set up like scopes or anything like that but I just have DNS forwarder to OpenDNS set up for those domains that can't be resolved on the local network. How can I set it up so YouTube restricted mode is forced using DNS? Please be specific else I probably won't be able to understand, screenshots would be helpful.

Thanks
    Nicholas

@NicholasHayman

I've also posted my question on the YouTube Help forum: https://productforums.google.com/forum/#!topic/youtube/zrgt2h3onls;context-place=forum/youtube

Saturday, November 5, 2016 8:03 AM

All replies

• Hi Nicholas,

>>so YouTube restricted mode is forced using DNS?

Did you mean that you want to user that was in local network connect to YouTube by DNS forwarder?

Could you please post details information about your deployment to here for effect support?

>>that but I just have DNS forwarder to OpenDNS set up for those domains that can't be resolved on the local network.

Please try to ping OpenDNS to check if connection is correct between OpenDNS and local DNS server.

You could change OpenDNS to be 8.8.8.8 and try again.

Best Regards

John

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help.
    If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

Monday, November 7, 2016 5:22 AM
  • Hi John,

I just want any way to ensure YouTube restricted mode is forced on the network. I saw this article on Google's support site but I'm not sure how to apply it in Windows Server. https://support.google.com/youtube/answer/6214622?hl=en

Thanks

Nicholas

@NicholasHayman

Monday, November 7, 2016 6:30 PM
  • Hi Nicholas,

>> I saw this article on Google's support site but I'm not sure how to apply it in Windows Server.