none
Help with an AzureMetrics alert?

Question

• I'm just getting into writing my own AzureMetrics alerts, and I used code from MSDN for the actual alert but I don't understand the effect of period and frequency, especially relevant to "timeGenerated". Additionally, having it render a chart is super but it doesn't give the database name anywhere, so argh! How do I get the database name in there, or do I seriously have to create an alert for every database?

Can someone explain what this alert would do?

SQL Server DBA

Wednesday, January 9, 2019 9:15 PM

All replies

• I'm just getting into writing my own AzureMetrics alerts, and I used code from MSDN for the actual alert but I don't understand the effect of period and frequency, especially relevant to "timeGenerated". Additionally, having it render a chart is super but it doesn't give the database name anywhere, so argh! How do I get the database name in there, or do I seriously have to create an alert for every database?

Can someone explain what this alert would do?

SQL Server DBA

Good day,

>> I used code from MSDN for the actual alert

Where is the code/link?
    Unfortunately, most people in the forum cannot read minds :-)
    In any question, you should think about the fact that we have no option to see what you do but only to read what you say hat you do.

>> I don't understand the effect of period and frequency, especially...

In the following Doc you have some explanation for each of the metric alerts parameters

How do metric alerts work

>> Additionally, having it render a chart is super but it doesn't give the database name anywhere, so argh!

This is a feedback which you can send top the team using the feedback system. It is not exactly a question I can response :-)
    You can use the "Diagnostics and Monitoring" feedback system here:
    https://feedback.azure.com/forums/231545-diagnostics-and-monitoring

>> do I seriously have to create an alert for every database?