locked
Client Updates RRS feed

  • Question

  • I installed the latest hotfix for 1702, which brought the version to 1711. When I did the update, I was able to check the box for updating the clients as well but I did not do it at that time. I just went back in to the console to check the box to get the clients updated, and it's grayed out. Any reason why? I know for sure there is client updates with this hotfix update I did.  I verified the client is still running 5.00.8498.1008 and not 5.00.8498.1711 like some other clients that were just recently installed manually.


    • Edited by RBanse Wednesday, July 5, 2017 3:33 PM
    Wednesday, July 5, 2017 3:28 PM

Answers

  • Permissions.

    The account you use must be a Full Admin **and** have access to all scopes to be able to do this.


    Jason | http://blog.configmgrftw.com | @jasonsandys

    • Marked as answer by RBanse Wednesday, July 5, 2017 6:15 PM
    Wednesday, July 5, 2017 5:18 PM

All replies

  • Permissions.

    The account you use must be a Full Admin **and** have access to all scopes to be able to do this.


    Jason | http://blog.configmgrftw.com | @jasonsandys

    • Marked as answer by RBanse Wednesday, July 5, 2017 6:15 PM
    Wednesday, July 5, 2017 5:18 PM
  • Permissions.

    The account you use must be a Full Admin **and** have access to all scopes to be able to do this.


    Jason | http://blog.configmgrftw.com | @jasonsandys


    And this only upgrades the clients that are linked to the new site code, correct? I know, dumb question but I need to ask it. We have two separate sites and are in the migration process. So this new site will only upgrade the clients that are connected to it, and it doesn't go out and do some weird discovery finding older clients that are still using the old site code after I check this box, correct?
    • Edited by RBanse Wednesday, July 5, 2017 6:22 PM
    Wednesday, July 5, 2017 6:21 PM
  • Setting auto-upgrade creates a scheduled task on the clients managed by the site -- it has no way of creating the scheduled task on any other systems.

    Jason | http://blog.configmgrftw.com | @jasonsandys


    Wednesday, July 5, 2017 6:32 PM
  • Setting auto-upgrade creates a scheduled task on the clients managed by the site -- it has no way of creating the scheduled task on any other systems.

    Jason | http://blog.configmgrftw.com | @jasonsandys


    Thank you.
    Wednesday, July 5, 2017 6:38 PM