Cannot see any computer in Collection.. But can see all machines DDR created in discovery log file RRS feed

• Question

• Hi 

I am new to SCCM. I just installed SCCM 2007 R2 in my office network and did discovery using Active Directory System Discovery. I can see more than 800 objects discovered in log files and DDR being created but when I see collection. I cannot see a thing... 

Am I missing something... Any help would be great.

Regards

Sam

Sunday, July 3, 2011 5:41 AM

Answers

• A key learning point here is that collections are based on membership rules: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb632615.aspx. The most useful type of rules are query based. It would be extremely inefficient if these queries were run on demand. Instead, ConfigMgr runs these queries on a scheduled basis and caches their results. Each collection can be configured to run its query based membership rules on a different schedle or you can manually initiate the evaluation of a collections rules by right-clicking and choosing update collection.

Also, here's a post a did that contains queries for the newer OSes: http://myitforum.com/cs2/blogs/jsandys/archive/2010/12/26/configmgr-collections-and-queries-for-current-oses.aspx. It's a simple MOF file that you can directly import.

Lastly, for proper Win 7 SP1 support, make sute that you install the hotfix from: 2489044.

Jason | http://myitforum.com/cs2/blogs/jsandys | Twitter @JasonSandys
    • Proposed as answer by Sabrina Shen Tuesday, July 5, 2011 7:22 AM
    • Marked as answer by Sabrina Shen Wednesday, July 6, 2011 7:48 AM
    Sunday, July 3, 2011 1:47 PM
  • and here's a query for All Windows Server 2008 systems, you can use it to create a collection with Server 2008 computers..

select SMS_R_SYSTEM.ResourceID,SMS_R_SYSTEM.ResourceType,SMS_R_SYSTEM.Name,SMS_R_SYSTEM
    .SMSUniqueIdentifier,SMS_R_SYSTEM.ResourceDomainORWorkgroup,SMS_R_SYSTEM.Client from sms_r_system where OperatingSystemNameandVersion like  '%Server 6.%'