ShortDate format for BEx Analyzer RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am in the process of sequencing SAP 7.30 patch level 10 along with BEx Analyzer. And I am pretty new to App-v 5.0, however have a good exposure working with 4.6.

My question is

I have a MS office sequened package and another package for SAP with BEX. I connected these two apps with connection group.

BEx opens up with excel as it installs excel add-in. Now, we want a particular short date format say yyyy/mm/dd in BEx workbooks as per revised SAP standards . There is a HKCU registry to modify it but as expected it modifies for all the excel or other relevant files. However we do not want to modify any other files except BEx related files.

I was wondering if there is any workaround in app-v to isolate this reg key only for BEx app? There can be a possible option of using macro but I wanted to explore other options if possible.

Also how do we see virtual registries on the client m/c? I am no longer able to differentiate b/w merge and override view if i open the virtual reg using /appvve command contrary to the previous app-v versions.

Thanks for your help!

Monday, June 29, 2015 3:08 PM

Answers

• Hi Karsjees,

"HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\International" (where your regional keys are) act as pass through keys for AppV5.  If you add them to your package they take NO effect.  You need to edit the users native hive through a prelaunch script or something of that ilk.

May I suggest you vote for this enhancement request to enable regional options to be virtualized?
    Friday, July 3, 2015 7:18 AM

All replies

• This will not work, as both Office and SAP BEx are in the same connectiongroup. The regkey set through your BEx package will always be laid down over your VE. So every time you open up excel, SAP BEx will be there to with that specific regkey.

Have a look at this article. It explains where all your VE registry keys and Files are written to.

Tuesday, June 30, 2015 3:49 PM