[PS] Backup results in logfile, send as attachment RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

I'm new to scripting and want to learn it. I have an environment with 12 servers that make a backup every day with Microsoft Windows Backup. I want to have one text file with all the results of the servers that i can email to myself.

I made a simple script for the event ID output, i made a task that triggers on a fail or succesfull backup event id (4): 

$text = "$(Get-Date) CC-server1: Backup completed successfully"
    $text >> 'C:\Log\Logging.txt'

I did this for the failed task too. Also the other servers have the same script so all the results come in the same logging.txt

Then i made a script that mails the txt file as an attachment to myself, that's not the problem.
    But how can i make a script to use the attachment (txt) as a body so i open the email and see the results in a nice body in stead of a text attachment?
    Tuesday, August 15, 2017 9:24 AM

All replies

• Hi,

Read the text from the file, and replace or append the body on the email with the text. 

$body = Get-Content -path c:\log\logging.txt

Use the $body variabel to change / append your email body.

Best regards, Anders - MCP/CCNP

Tuesday, August 15, 2017 9:29 AM
  • Hi,

Read the text from the file, and replace or append the body on the email with the text. 

$body = Get-Content -path c:\log\logging.txt

Use the $body variabel to change / append your email body.

I made the script like this now: Send-MailMessage $body = Get-Content -path C:\log\logging.txt -SmtpServer "smtpserver" -From "backup@example.com" -To "user@example.com" -Subject "Daily Report" but i don't receive any mail, what am i doing wrong?
    Tuesday, August 15, 2017 9:55 AM
  • Hi,

Try: 

$body = Get-Content -path C:\log\logging.txt
    Send-MailMessage -body $body -SmtpServer "smtpserver" -From "backup@example.com" -To "user@example.com" -Subject "Daily Report"

Tuesday, August 15, 2017 9:59 AM
  • Hi,

Try: