More MMC problems RRS feed

• Question

• Hey Folks.

I have recently installed Windows Server 2008r2 SP1 several times.  I have eliminated my initial problems with running Windows Updates & avoided the dreaded .NET 3.5.1 updates as they seemed to cause me all sorts of trouble.

I have installed the Operating System and when the system boots, the Initial Configuration Tasks (oobe) launches.

When I run the mmc - I get the Console1 windows as normal - but when I attempt to add "specific" snap-ins (server manager, event viewer) MMC crashes.

I have looked over these forums quite a bit but cannot locate the correct fix.  I have a single instance of mmc.exe running when this occurs.  Diagnostic startup did not help.

I have been digging through forums & tech articles for about a week now & wanted to see if anyone could help?

I have been working with systems for about 15 years - but most of my server experience comes from the Debian Linux side.  

Thanks!

Update:  I ran the System Update Readiness Tool & the CheckSUR log came back with zero errors.  
    Monday, July 4, 2011 6:54 PM

All replies

• Hi,

Does this issue also occur in Safe Mode?

Please upload the following files to https://sftus.one.microsoft.com/choosetransfer.aspx?key=938cdbf2-abfd-4622-9726-e04a6e178051

Password: O{@v$LqAomEqA3

%windir%\logs\servermanager.log

%windir%\Logs\CBS \CBS.log

Tim Quan

Tuesday, July 5, 2011 2:42 AM
  • I just tested safe mode and safe mode with networking.  

In both cases, the system restarted before I could get to the desktop.  Kinda strange? 

In normal mode - seems to be fine, I can login under either the Administrator account or my own.  Under my account, I was denied access to the log files, but the Administrator account didn't seem to have any trouble with them.

Uploaded the logs.

Thank you for your time & assistance.

Tuesday, July 5, 2011 5:08 PM
  • Hi,

Thank you for sending the files to me.