Import Text Files with Line Breaks - 1 Into each Cell RRS feed

• Question

• Hello Folks,

i hope this is not too much of an obvious question.

I am new to Power queries

so  I have a folder with a few text files.

how do I import each file into a row

The content  has line breaks and spaces

Sample file

==================
    Video provides a powerful way to help you prove your point. When you click Online Video,
    you can paste in the embed code for the video you want to add.

You can also type a keyword to search online for the video that best fits your document.

To make your document look professionally produced, Word provides header, footer,
    ==================

Can I import the above file into a Cell  Row?

Cheers Dan

Monday, July 11, 2016 4:24 PM

Answers

• That's not too obvious, but doable:

let
        Source = Folder.Files("YourFolder"),
        RetrieveContent = Table.AddColumn(Source, "Custom", each Csv.Document([Content], [Delimiter="~", Encoding=1252, QuoteStyle=QuoteStyle.None])),
        CombineRows = Table.AddColumn(RetrieveContent, "Result", each Text.Combine([Custom][Column1], "#(lf)"))
    in
        CombineRows

You go via "From Folder" and add a column where you access the file contents via Csv.Combine. This will try to split your docs into columns according to the Delimiter sign. If you manage to identify a sign that doesn't occur in your texts, the text wont be split into multiple columns. (I've chosen "~" in my example).

You might need to adjust the encoding to your local settings: Just click on the content as you've probably done already and check out what the default-settings on your machine delivers.

The trick lies in the last step "CombineRows" where the multiple rows will be combined using a linefeed "#(lf)"

Imke Feldmann TheBIccountant.com

• Edited by Imke FeldmannMVP Monday, July 11, 2016 6:59 PM
    • Marked as answer by Dan_CS Monday, July 11, 2016 7:36 PM
    Monday, July 11, 2016 6:58 PM

All replies