none
What to Automate in your Monitoring Tools RRS feed

• General discussion

• Hello:

I wanted to start a discussion on the types of automatic remediations that you recommend to turn on in your event monitoring tool.    Automatic responses to events and incidents will increase an organization's ability to respond to incidents, reduce the downtime of incidents and improve process maturity overall.

To start, not that I am a technical expert, these are some of the automated actions I would implement in my monitoring tool:

Event = running out of database extents, 
        Automated action = create incident ticket, increase extents and close alert/incident ticket
    Event = running out of disk space, 
        Automated action = create incident ticket, then delete all temp files, close alert/incident ticket

So what others could we add as a best practice for our Customers?

Monday, May 5, 2008 7:02 PM

All replies

• Hi Kathleen,
    This is some examples used by me:

Event = secutiry logs clean,  
        Automated action = create incident ticket, send a e-mail message to security administrator, close alert/incident ticket

Event = new computer add on domain,  
        Automated action = create incident ticket, send a e-mail message to reginal domain administrator, close alert/incident ticket

Event = heartbeat don't respond,  
        Automated action = create incident ticket, send a Ping command to the server, if success close alert/incident ticket or if fail send a e-mail message to reginal domain administrator

and more, this your idea for this post is great, because I'm use SCOM now and configuring this.
    Best Regards

Cleber Marques
    MOF Brasil Project
    www.clebermarques.com

Monday, May 5, 2008 7:19 PM
  • Monitoring has many aspects and all must be considered in the light of an information achitecture for reporting i.e.:

• What
    • When
    • Where
    • Why
    • How