powershell script to find a string in word document and move to other location if exists RRS feed

• Question

• Hi i am completely new to Powershell topics...

I am looking to find a string in word and excel document E.g Like "Security" if it contains in any of the document, the same should be moved to other location...can anyone suggest with simple scripts pls...!!

This simple script worked in finding and relocating the file, but it is not working for docx format, pls help out..

Get-ChildItem -Path C:\Users\Administrators\Documents -Include *.txt, *.doc, *.xls -Recurse |Select-String -Pattern "Security" -List|Move-Item -Destination E:\check -Verbose..

Sunday, October 22, 2017 3:16 PM

Answers

• Hi,

I agree with jrv.

In addition, based on my research, you could have a try with the following scripts for Word documents. Hope it is helpful to you:
    #Stop-Process -Name 'WINWORD'
    $word = New-Object -ComObject Word.Application
    $source = 'D:\source'
    $destination = 'D:\destination'
    $docs = Get-ChildItem -Path $source | Where-Object {$_.Name -match '.docx'}
    foreach ($doc in $docs)
    {
        if ($word.Documents.Open($doc.FullName).Content.Find.Execute('Security'))
        {
            $word.Application.ActiveDocument.Close()
            Write-Host "$doc contains 'Security'"
            Move-Item -Path $doc.FullName -Destination $destination -Verbose
        }
        else
        {
        }
    }

If you need further help, please feel free to let us know.

Best Regards,
    Albert Ling

Please remember to mark the replies as an answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help.
    If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

Monday, October 23, 2017 1:44 AM

All replies

• Select-String will not work on binary files.  You will need to use one of the Excel or MSWord modules or objects to do this:

\_(ツ)_/

Sunday, October 22, 2017 5:09 PM