Opening virtualized app (Office 2007) on certain situation only RRS feed

• Question

• Hi there,

I'm just getting started with App-V and hopefully this is the right forum for my question. I'm still in the process of preparing App-V 5.0 in a lab environment and testing things out. But based on what I've read/learned so far, I'm not sure how to approach one particular scenario that I need to deal with.

We have an internal web application. The website gives the users links to various Word template files. Users click on those links and Word 2007 opens up with appropriate information pre-filled in some fields based on what info the user was working with on the site. This is the current scenario.

We're trying to move to Windows 7 + Office 2010. The problem is, the above experience doesn't quite work with Office 2010. Office 2007 seems to be a requirement at this time.

I'm thinking of virtualizing Office 2007 that can be deployed to the client workstation, if they need it, while Office 2010 will already be installed locally on all client machines.

The part I'm not sure how to handle is "how do I launch virtualized Office 2007 when users are working on that particular website thought IE but for everything else, Office 2010 will be the default."

Any suggestions on how to tackle this?

Pman
    http://www.pmansLab.com/

Friday, February 8, 2013 3:03 AM

Answers

• It will depend on how the link calls Office. If it uses basic file type associations, then you could create the Office 2007 package in such a way that it only handles specific file types (remove all other file types whilst editing the package in the Sequencer). Under Windows only one program can be the default file type handler, so either Office 2007 is the default or Office 2010 is the default for a specific file type.