none
Project Server 2010 - a single user cannot login RRS feed

• Question

• Hello!

I am having problems with Project Server 2010 installation. I have successfully installed sharepoint, and added a PWA instance (being a complete beginner, very proud of that :D). For now, there are a few users, 1 project manager, 1 executive, and three team members. There is one test project added, and resources are assigned.

All of the users are able to connect to PWA with their domain accounts, and are enabled to use Project 2010. Everything worked ok, until one of the team members, who hasn't accessed before tried to login to pwa, and got the "Access Denied" message, which tells me that the login went ok, but some permissions are not right. I've googled around, and found hints to check the site permissions, and add the user into Team member group if he wasn't already there. Done that, no change. Other people seemed to have problems accessing only PWA, however, she has problems accessing from Project 2010, too.

I suspected it was something of a machine/OS issue (windows xp sp3), so I tried from my own machine, where everything works. Got the same result, and Project 2010 returned "Could not retrieve server initialization data". I restart Project, login as my own user, and everything works fine.

Help? :(

Thursday, August 26, 2010 11:09 AM

Answers

• Well, seems it is going for the better.

I had to add each individual user to the sharepoint central administration user policy for the PWA, and assign Full Control. Also, I granted user individual permissions in the PWA, and adjusted permissions for the team member group. So far, my own account has access to the projects, and can add issues and risks. Hopefully, soon everything else will be okay too.

Thanks to bubu7te for directions and help.

• Marked as answer by Raptus Monday, August 30, 2010 10:39 AM
    Monday, August 30, 2010 10:39 AM

All replies

• HI!

How do you give permissions to the user?