none
Account Management -> Computer Account Management - Failure

Question

• Hello,

I am new in windows 2012 .

I am working on the following rule, .Can any one tell me "what activity should i do to get the  failure log".just want to check this policy.   

The system must be configured to audit Account Logon - Computer Account Management failures

To get the logs  i have done the following (Os is windows 2012 r2).

Computer Configuration -> Windows Settings -> Security Settings -> Advanced Audit Policy Configuration -> System Audit Policies -> Account Management -> "Audit Computer Account Management" with "Failure" selected.

Thursday, October 6, 2016 11:18 PM

Answers

• Hi,
    If you define audit account management setting, you can specify whether to audit successes, audit failures, or not to audit the event type at all. Success audits generate an audit entry when any account management event is successful. Failure audits generate an audit entry when any account management event fails.
    https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc976377.aspx
    You could do a test to remove a computer, but make sure that the activity must fail and then see if the failure event is logged.
    Best regards,
    Wendy

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help.
    If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

• Marked as answer by vijay a singh Tuesday, October 11, 2016 11:17 PM
    Monday, October 10, 2016 3:14 AM
  • Hi,
    In my opinion, it seems to be expected behavior, as your test failed in the process to authenticate the permission for removing computer, not the actual removing process. The failure log might be logged when the user with administrator account fail to remove computer.