Cannot connect to the configuration database after Windows repair RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I've been asked to try and fix a broken WSS 3.0 installation for a client.  They are running WSS on their domain controller.  They recently had an OS problem and did a repair installation of Windows 2003.  In the process WSS broke - getting the dreaded "Cannot connect to the configuration database".

Since I've never worked at this client before and they have no documentation, I'm reluctant to bin the installation and start again and restore their content DB - I'm hoping to fix the problem.  If I try and launch Central Administration off the start menu, it tells me that the Central Admin web app has not been created yet, and redirects me to the products and technologies config wizard.

I step through the wizard and point it to the config DB which is still intact, and it auto-populates the user/pass field with NT AUTHORITY\NETWORK SERVICE.  If I enter a bogus password so that the Next button is enabled, it throws an error about the account needing to be either domain or local.  If I change the account to a local account, it throws an error saying I either need to select NT AUTHORITY\NETWORK SERVICE, or choose another database... so I'm stuck.

I've tried the stsadm.exe commands to reset the farm account credentials without success.

Any ideas?

Wednesday, December 12, 2012 10:43 PM

Answers

• Hi Emir,

In the end I gave up and just dumped the config DB, created a new farm, and re-attached the original content DB.  Thanks anyway for your suggestions.

cheers

Ray

• Marked as answer by Emir Liu Friday, December 14, 2012 2:34 AM
    Thursday, December 13, 2012 9:45 PM

All replies

• Hi Raymond,

Please check following problems on your server.

1. Content source for your Admin web app has set to Read-only in SQL Server.
    2. Protocol for MSSQLSERVER is enabled.