none
Project 2013 No Server, No Sharepoint, Updating Tasks From Assigned Resources Through Email RRS feed

• Question

• Ok,

I have searched high and low for this type of information and Im surprised after all these years that no one has asked or requested this type of information?

I am a consultant, with my own version of Project 2013 to track how I run Projects.  This is the tool I use.  So this being the case it makes no sense for me to spend millions of dollars for Project Server.  I am just one person useing this as my tool of choice.

My issues are:

• I create and assign a task to a resource with a name and an email address.
    • I litterally have thousands of tasks with hundreds of assigned resources (People) with an email address.
    • I need to update weekly all my task!!!  The entire point of using Project 2013 as a tool!
    • However it appears Microsoft needs to make this very dificult to do. If I have to manually email all these people with task and manually ask them for an update, then manually update all these task then whats the point of even bothering using Micrsofts Project 2013?  It is useless.
    • I need a way to automate these updates without having a Server.

The Question no one seems to be asking is this?

• Is there a way to update task through email, (Outlook), Why cant I send emails with a table of tasks assinged, request update in the task table, then the assigned resource sends me back the email with thier updates and I can automatically update my Project Task?