Looking for some advice/knowledge RRS feed

• Question

• I am really looking for some advice as to features of Small Business Server, and I must admit that I am an extreme novice at this.  Our office is considering replacing its current server (2008) with a new one that will likely run Small Business Server 2011.  I am essentially looking to get the least expensive version that will support our needs.  We only need a few basic functions, the server needs to allow for a domain with 10-15 users, allow for a central repository for our files, and run exchange for our email.  I must be honest, I cannot comprehend what exactly SQL server does, or if we would even need it.  Also, how many CAL licenses do we need to purchase.  Sorry if this sounds very basic, but I am a novice to this.  Thanks.

Wednesday, June 5, 2013 12:25 AM

Answers

• ???.  SBS 2011 DOES require CAL purchase if you are going to use it with more than 5 users or devices.  It comes with 5 CALs (Users or Devices or mix and match, your choice).  Now, beginning with SBS 2008, there is no mechanism to 'install' any additional CALs, but you need to purchase them if you have more than 5 users in your network accessing the SBS server.

Q. How many CALs are included with the SBS 2011 Standard Server?
    A. 5 CALs are included with the server license for SBS 2011 Standard regardless of the channel you
    acquired it in (OEM, FPP or Volume Licensing).

--
    Merv Porter
    =========================
    • Marked as answer by Andy Qi Thursday, June 20, 2013 9:00 AM
    Wednesday, June 5, 2013 11:28 AM
  • The standard edition of SBS 2011 has SQL Server 2008 R2 Express installed by default. It handles needs such as monitoring and should be running on the server. Full SQL server which you don't appear to need is only available as part of the Premium Add On.

Steve

• Marked as answer by Andy Qi Thursday, June 20, 2013 9:01 AM
    Wednesday, June 5, 2013 8:00 PM
  • Hi: