none
Having trouble with the Read-Host cmdlet not actually waiting for the user input before moving to the next line in the script. RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

I fairly new to this, and I have the following commands working perfectly in the ISE.  Problem is, if I run this in the power shell console (Windows 7), which is what happens when you double click the file, it runs, but it blasts right past the Read-host commands.  In ISE it stops and waits for the input.  Any help?  And feedback on th other suff?  Remember I'm a newbie, be gentle.

#Draft Powershell Script to streamline xxx to yyy migration and reduce the key entry required.  This MUST be run as an administrator or it will fail to configure the IP stack.   
    #Version 1.0 - Lee Buskey
    Set-ExecutionPolicy RemoteSigned
    # stuff variable with the current machines hostname.
    $hostname = hostname
    #Stuff variable to the migration data text file. 
    $migrationdata = '"c:\migrate\IPDATA.txt"'
    # Define the "IP" variable, Read in the master migration data from a text file, and find the line that matches the hostname and stuff it in the variable. 
    $ip = Select-String -Path "C:\migrate\IPDATA.txt" -Pattern $hostname
    # Convert the IP variable contents to a text string value
    $ip = $ip.ToString()
    #Lop off the first 35 Characters of the IP variable to get rid of junk.   
    $ip = $ip.Substring(35)
    #Trim off any leading spaces.. 
    $ip = $ip.Trim()
    #Still working on code to conditinally ask this question if the hostname is not found in the data file. 
    #$ip = Read-Host “Please enter the IP address for this machine. (xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx.)”
    #Populate the DNS server variable
    $dns = “10.10.1.10”,”10.10.1.11”
    #Populate the Gateway variable
    $gateway = “10.10.4.1”
    #Populate the Netmask variable
    $netmask = “255.255.252.0”
    #Populate the DNS suffix variable
    $dnsdomain = “new.domain.local”
    #clear the screen
    cls