none
Microsoft Windows section is not showing up in Installed Updates

Question

• Hey all,

I am trying to uninstall IE10.  When I go to control panel, program and features, installed updates, the Microsoft Windows section does not show up.  The only sections I can see are Adobe Reader XI, Microsoft .NET Framework 4 Client Profile (10), Microsoft .NET Framework 4 Extended (7), and Microsoft Office Home and Business 2010 (36).  I have no idea why it isn't showing the Microsoft Windows section, but any help would be great appreciated.

Thanks,

Cgxbaffle

PS - I am an admin on the system.  I also took it off the domain and logged in as a local admin.  Same results.
    • Edited by Cgxbaffle Wednesday, March 27, 2013 3:09 PM
    Wednesday, March 27, 2013 2:51 PM

All replies

• Are you able to scroll down the list at all?

You should be able to scroll down the list to find the Microsoft Windows section and Internet Explorer 10 should be in that section of the Installed Updates.  It is a long list.

Please remember to click “Mark as Answer” on the post that helps you, and to click “Unmark as Answer” if a marked post does not actually answer your question. This can be beneficial to other community members reading the thread. ”

Wednesday, March 27, 2013 4:21 PM
  • Please refer to this KB

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/931712

Also, try removing it from the add/remove windows features menu.
    Wednesday, March 27, 2013 4:26 PM
  • Those are the only sections listed.  If I collapse those 4 sections that is all that shows.  There is not a Microsoft windows section to scroll too.  It is only listing 57 updates total from those 4 sections.  I can see the Microsoft Windows section on another system, so I know what you are talking about, it just isn't appearing on this system.  I am hoping there is some option that needs to be checked or something that can fix this and that I won't have to reinstall windows just to get rid of IE 10.

Thanks again for any help.