SMTP Address Re-Use RRS feed

• Question

• Pardon my ignorance a little bit.  It has been awhile since I've been an Exchange admin and now work in Security Policy writing, so I need some assistance from the experts.

Is there a way in Exchange 2003 or 2007 to set it up so that we do not re-use past smtp addresses?  Our SMTP addresses are built off of policy on new accounts.  Primary is John.Smith@MyCompany.com with several others as secondary including LANID@MyCompany.com and John.Smith@MyCompany.org etc.  So the question is, is there a way to set it up so that if John.Smith terminates from our company and 6 months later an entirely new John.Smith is hired, to set it up so that he would not receive an SMTP that has existed at any point in the last 3 years even though that SMTP is not currently in use?  I would want him to automatically be John.Smith2@MyCompany.com in this example.  If I can't do this in 2003/2007, do you know if that option is available in 2010 or 2013?  Thank you in advance for any assistance you can provide.

Monday, January 28, 2013 6:31 PM

Answers

• Hi,

if there is no existing mail address exist, obviously email address policy will create the same.

May be you can create a dummy contact for John.Smith when he terminates, so that it will not be repeated. 

Kottees : My Blog : Please mark it as an answer if it really helps you.

• Marked as answer by Zi Feng Monday, February 4, 2013 2:22 AM
    Monday, January 28, 2013 7:16 PM

All replies

• Hi,

if there is no existing mail address exist, obviously email address policy will create the same.

May be you can create a dummy contact for John.Smith when he terminates, so that it will not be repeated. 

Kottees : My Blog : Please mark it as an answer if it really helps you.

• Marked as answer by Zi Feng Monday, February 4, 2013 2:22 AM
    Monday, January 28, 2013 7:16 PM
  • Hi DaHart85

Did you try above?

Cheers

Zi Feng
    TechNet Community Support

Wednesday, January 30, 2013 2:40 AM