none
Weeks numbers not lining up! RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am new to MS Project and am using to manage multiple project for multiple teams. Our entire business references week numbers regularly and we all have our Outlook calendars configured so that the week 1 of the year is which ever week January 1st is in. For example, in Outlook Dec. 28th-Jan. 3rd is week 1 because January 1st falls within those dates. This is an option easily found in the Outlook calendar settings and seems fairly standard.

I can't for the life of me figure out how to get my MS Project to do this. My Timescale shows week 1 doesn't start until a few days into January. I've looked in the Timescale settings and the program options and cannot find anything.

Please tell me that there is a way to get the MS Project Timescale to sync-up with our Outlook calendars and have the week number start the same week that Jan. 1st falls into.

Thanks!

Friday, January 23, 2015 1:31 AM

Answers

• Sandwichlover --

In Microsoft Project, the Week setting you can apply on the Timescale bar is based on the Start date of the project.  Week 1 is always the first full week of the project, based on the Start date.  If the Start date of the project is Monday, February 2, then Week 1 is the week of February 1.  If the project Start date is Wednesday, February 4, then Week 1 is the week of February 8, while the first partial week is specified as Week -1.  There is no setting in Microsoft Project where you can specify that Week 1 starts on January 1.  That is simply not an available option.  Sorry.  Hope this helps.  

Dale A. Howard [MVP]

Friday, January 23, 2015 1:43 AM

All replies

• Sandwichlover --