Power BI for Office 365 > How to connect to the Data Source? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am new to Power BI and would like to understand one simple point - How to connect to the Data Source?

I have got a Gateway defined in the Power BI Admin Center for a on-premises SQL Database. The Gateway is up & running.

Now, I would like to connect to this SQL Database from my Excel file sitting on my local machine. Please note that my local machine can not communicate with the said SQL Server machine.

How could I do this?

I have tried connecting from Power Query, Power Pivot and also from the Data tab > connections, but failed from all three ways. I am still not sure how could I select that SQL Database as my data source.

Is it mandatory to have a LAN or VPN or something setup so that my excel file could communicate with the SQL Server and then once I am done with designing the Data Models & the Power View, I would upload the file on the Power BI Site for others to view it.

Please guide.

Thanks!

-Vinay Pugalia
    If a post answers your question, please click "Mark As Answer" on that post or "Vote as Helpful".
    Web : Inkey Solutions
    Blog : My Blog
    Email : Vinay Pugalia

Sunday, August 2, 2015 8:47 AM

Answers

• As the article you linked to states, you need to be able to access the machine running the Data Management Gateway in order to access the OData feed. So you either need access to the data source itself, or the DMG.

Ehren

Monday, August 17, 2015 5:51 PM

All replies

• Unlike connecting to a local data source from the Gateway, connecting to a local data source from PQ in Excel shouldn't require any special setup. Have you tried the following?

https://support.office.com/en-us/article/Connect-to-a-SQL-Server-database-Power-Query-e5004318-0f2e-46a3-8b15-1559aa3c04db

Ehren

Tuesday, August 4, 2015 3:18 PM
  • Hello Ehren,