none
Using Remote Desktop Services with a self-signed SHA256 (SHA-2) certificate - help! RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,
    I've searched the internet high and low to find the answer to this problem and have not come up with much.

I run a remote desktop protocol in order to access my PC remotely. The self-signed certificated which is auto-generated by Windows (in order to support the TLS encryption) is SHA1. I work in the security industry and I understand that SHA1 is phasing out.

What is the process to upgrade this auto-generated certificate so that it will use SHA256? The closest article I've been able to find is here: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/2001849, but it discusses replacing the RDP certificate with a custom SHA1 cert: it says nothing about SHA2.

Does anybody know how to accomplish this?

Thanks
    Bo
    Friday, March 11, 2016 6:57 PM

Answers

All replies

• Hi, 

How many RDS roles and how each of them is distributed?

How was the new certificate generated, did you install it into the Computer Personal store on RDS server?

RDS certificate can be managed through

Server Manager -> Remote Desktop Services -> Overview -> Tasks -> Deployment Properties -> Certificates.

More information for you:

Certificate Requirements for Windows 2008 R2 and Windows 2012 Remote Desktop Services

http://blogs.technet.com/b/askperf/archive/2014/01/24/certificate-requirements-for-windows-2008-r2-and-windows-2012-remote-desktop-services.aspx

You can try the upgrade method in this blog:

Migrating your Certification Authority Hashing Algorithm from SHA1 to SHA2
    https://blogs.technet.microsoft.com/askds/2015/04/01/migrating-your-certification-authority-hashing-algorithm-from-sha1-to-sha2/

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help, and unmark the answers if they provide no help. If you have feedback for TechNet Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

Monday, March 14, 2016 3:17 PM
    Owner
  • Hello Kate,