Run as Administrator "Windows Cannot Find..." error message RRS feed

• Question

• I have a fully patched windows 7 SP1 workstation on a domain.  I am a domain admin for that domain.  When I try to run any application that requires elevation I receive a message that says: "Windows cannot find c:\windows\system32\cmd.exe Make sure you have typed the name correctly, and then try again." 

This is the second Win7 workstation to have this problem. We simply re installed the OS on the first but I am afraid that this behavior is contagious and will start happening to other workstations.  

I am looking for ideas on how to troubleshoot the problem.  We can remotely connect to the workstation to view event logs and get remote RSOP information.  However, elevating anything locally is not working.

I am open to any ideas on how to fix this.  Thanks!  

Wednesday, May 22, 2013 4:06 PM

Answers

• Hi,

As this thread has been quiet for a while, we assume that the issue has been resolved. At this time, we will mark it as ‘Answered’ as the previous steps should be helpful for many similar scenarios. If the issue still persists, please feel free to  reply this post directly so we will be notified to follow it up. You can also choose to unmark the answer as you wish.

BTW,  we’d love to hear your feedback about the solution. By sharing your experience you can help other community members facing similar problems. Thanks for your understanding and efforts.

Regards,

Leo   Huang

TechNet Subscriber Support

If you are TechNet Subscription user and have any feedback on our support quality, please send your feedback here.

Leo Huang
    TechNet Community Support

• Marked as answer by Leo Huang Friday, June 7, 2013 9:22 AM
    Friday, June 7, 2013 9:19 AM

All replies

• Hi,

Please go to C:\windows\system32 and check if cmd.exe exists, if it disappeared, try to run sfc /scannow to check:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929833

Regards,

Leo   Huang