Help - I'can't restore my HD saved files - savedata.mig file not found? RRS feed

• Question

•  

My old pc (had windows XP) wouldn't allow me to move files from one folder to another anymore.  So I used easy windows transfer and put them on my external HD.  My new PC has windows vista - when i used file transfer to extract my 62.4GB of files - I got the message Savedata.mig file not found? 

Can anyone please help me to retrieve my photos, music etc - I'm not very good at all this PC stuff  but if anyone can please tell my in a simple way what I'm suposed to do, I would really appriciate this as I've allready tried to fix this for over 1 week now

Saturday, June 14, 2008 1:27 PM

Answers

• Hi,

Thank you for the reply.

From your description, I understand that you backed up data using Files and Settings Transfer Wizard instead of Windows Easy Transfer in Windows XP.

In this case, we cannot restore the data to Windows Vista as Windows Vista does not have Files and Settings Transfer Wizard and Windows Easy Transfer is incompatible with Files and Settings Transfer Wizard. In addition, we cannot convert the .DAT file to a .mig file.

Currently, if you would like to retrieve the data, you need to restore it to a Windows XP computer. If you have another Windows XP computer, you can have a try. Otherwise, you need to reinstall Windows XP on your computer and then restore the data.

In fact, if you would like to transfer files from Windows XP to Windows Vista, we can use Windows Easy Transfer. Windows Easy Transfer is a built-in component in Windows Vista but not in Windows XP. However, we can install Windows Easy Transfer on Windows XP from the following site:

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=2b6f1631-973a-45c7-a4ec-4928fa173266&DisplayLang=en

For more information about Windows Easy Transfer, please refer to the following article: