none
Powershell Creating Array of Objects based on one column RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am relatively new at powershell and am attempting to write a script where I am importing a CSV file and based on the hostname on the server that I am running this on it would return to me in which office this server is located and all the other servers that are in the same office.  MY CSV looks like this

Column 1(Site)                                      Column 2(ServerName)

FL                                                                         a1,a3

NC                                                                         a2

ME                                                                          a4,a5,a7

• Edited by ogratwick Saturday, February 11, 2017 11:16 PM
    Saturday, February 11, 2017 11:16 PM

Answers

• Appreciate the quick response.  What I am trying to do though is less for formatting and more for using the objects in the list to get further information.  I could find all the different locations but what I need is to be able to do is to input a hostname, and from there the script should be able to understand which location the server correlated to and provide me the list of all the other servers in that location.  Basically what I am trying to achieve down the line is to be able to display Server information like CPU and RAM for all the servers in a certain location.

I did a basic modification to your script, and after recreating your CSV file and testing it, I think this makes the few changes yours needed.  Quick rundown on the changes so you know why I changed what I did:

1. Stripped off the variable assignment from the import-csv statement. Since we're passing straight into a ForEach loop, you don't need it.

2. Split the server names by commas so it returns the sites with multiple servers as an array instead of one string.