Displaying Performance Point Dashboard and Reports in Asp.Net Web Site RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

I am new to Performance point and Share point and I have a requirement where I need to display Performance point Dashboards and Reports that are deployed on Sharepoint in my Asp. Net website.

Could any one please guide me that how can i go about this.

Thanks Kunal.
    Thursday, April 30, 2009 4:55 AM

All replies

• You can reference the URL location of the dashboard page that is deployed to the SharePoint document library.  The dashboard viewer web part is only useable in SharePoint to the best of my knowledge to leverage PerformancePoint.
    Dan English's BI Blog
    Thursday, April 30, 2009 12:27 PM
  • Kunal,

Yes, PerformancePoint Server 2007 dashboards can be used on a ASP.net web page. The easiest way to do this is to create a dashboard and deploy as a preview web site. The dashboard will be deployed to the preview web folder as a simple ASP.net page. Copy this page and use it as the starting point for your custom ASP.net page.

WARNING - I would be very careful using this workaround if migrating to PPS2010 is a requirement. Some architectural changes discussed by MS will break this if they are in the released project. Since this is a workaround and not primary functionality it will not be on any test plans for migration. Use with caution.

However if you need a quick and simple way to create a custom BI application using MS components that should be supported for at least 3 more years, then this can be a very useful trick.

-Peter Sprague
    Thursday, April 30, 2009 4:27 PM