none
"Add the Administrators security group to roaming user profiles" not working

Question

• I'm doing some testing of roaming profiles and have them working. However as an Administrator, I cannot access each user's individual profile folder. I have enabled the GP setting "Add the administrators security group to roaming user profiles" and done a GPupdate on the client PC that I'm using as the first logon device for the user profile creation. GPresult shows that the GPO is being applied, but it still doesn't grant me access.

I am aware that the policy doesn't apply retroactively and that only folders created AFTER the GPO is applied will grant me access. But I'm testing this by creating the folder multiple times after I've already created the GPO. So that argument doesn't apply.

After some digging, I found an old thread that stated that the policy must be configured on the client PC that the user is logging onto for the time in order for it to work. So I tried doing that and I was granted access after the profile directory was created.

But this doesn't seem like the right answer. Yes, it solves the problem. But if you have 500 computers in an organisation, wouldn't it mean you'd have to enable this setting on each and every one of them? No way would an admin want to do that.

Can anyone shed some light on this?

Thursday, April 06, 2017 6:12 AM

Answers

• > Thanks Martin. Just so I understand correctly, you're saying to link the GPO to the OU where the client PCs are contained?

Yes.

> If so, I can't do that due to them being in the "Computers" container in AD. I understand I can move the PCs to the OU I want, but how will this affect any existing GPOs I've set up?

That's one of the reasons why the "computers" container should not be used in a production environment... Anyway - you can link your setting to the domain as well.

Friday, April 07, 2017 1:11 PM
  • OK, I have it working now.